U.S. National Park Service

The U.S. National Park Service (NPS) manages five areas (Gates of the Arctic National Park and Preserve, Kobuk Valley National Park, Noatak National Preserve) that cover over 20 million acres of northwest Alaska.

The National Park Service preserves unimpaired the natural and cultural resources and values of the national park system for the enjoyment, education, and inspiration of this and future generations.

The NPS is specifically directed to protect natural and healthy populations of caribou, including the Western Arctic caribou herd. Subsistence hunting by rural residents is allowed in these Alaska National Parks.

Contact Information

Mark Dowdle

Acting Superintendent

Western Arctic National Parklands